English Language Curriculum Development

English Language Curriculum Development
English Language Curriculum Development

The national curriculum for England is to be modernized in response to concerns about its low achievement levels, with a focus on individualism and creativity.

The proposed new curriculum is designed to boost pupils’ performance by focusing on developing their abilities, aspirations and creative skills. This has been welcomed by the country’s education secretary who has emphasized that creativity should be treated like a ‘fourth strand of literacy’ alongside reading, writing and speaking. At Curriculum UK we have put together this post all about English Language Curriculum Development that showcases the best sources of information on how the new national curriculum will look when it finally surfaces.


It’s an exciting time for English Language Curriculum Development as the debate about how to reform the curriculum starts to gather momentum. There is lots of ‘aware-ness’ among teachers around teacher training in language teaching, and a lot of experimentation with new ways of learning. This post (Part 1) looks at what is happening, and Part 2 introduces some of the new developments that are coming up.


It’s 10 years since the Government published ‘What England Knows’, a major report on English as a global language, and more than half that time since Tony Blair made education reform one of his top priorities. It has been a turbulent period, with numerous initiatives and mini-reforms, but what is the current situation? In Part 1 of this post we look at the recent history of English Language Curriculum Development in England, introducing some of the key debates.


Everything You Need To Know About The New English Language Curriculum

The England’s new national curriculum will be more of a ‘drawing up’ than a ‘dichotomous’ one, according to Education Secretary Michael Gove. This means that it will be less prescriptive in its approach and more open to individual innovation within clear guidelines.

Gove highlighted a number of areas identified in the consultation process, which are likely to see significant change:

– Creativity and independence

– The Division of skills and subject areas

– Literacy, numeracy and ICT

– Literacy, numeracy and lifelong competencies

There will be up to eight different strands of study, including three ‘integral’ strands (language; literature; art & design) that must be taught at the elementary level; these will be followed by three ‘standalone’ strands (English for A levels or vocational qualifications; English for GCSE or non-vocational qualifications; English for life). However, it is important not to get too hung up on these terms.

Image: Pexels

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.